Posted by: littlehouseonthebigisland | June 13, 2014

BBQ Plus Avocado Pancakes

It’s been a busy couple of days cooking, so I am really glad to be sitting with my writing partner, having just finished a store-bought everything bagel with lox schmere. I am all calm and happy now, even though before, I went to my cell phone store to figure out why my bills have been so high.  Which just goes to show, most of the world’s problems can be solved with good food.

36285_1727097658556_8233999_n

Purple and yellow yams and egg fruit in a Dutch oven lined with ti leaves.

Every time I read about helping the planet and eating healthy I wonder what I could be doing.  Then I happily remember that I live and work on an organic farm.  Even better, it is in Hawaii, on a volcano, overlooking the ocean.  And the longer I am here, the more I know how to cook good things with local foods and the crops we grow.

The other day we had barbeque. I had to start in the morning because we have been having so much rain, especially later in the day.  In a climate where plants grow year ‘roun, barbeque is a great way to get rid of piles of wood, clear ground, fertilize soil, and make delicious food.  We start with wadded up newspaper, pile on coffee, avocado and pecan sticks, upgrade to full blown logs of peach, tulip, mango, more avocado, and guava, and finally, bamboo which sounds like firecrackers as it ignites and its chambers burst.  As the different woods burn they release fragrances; a hint of coffee, something fruity or musky. Some woods we avoid because they are poisonous, like Christmas Berry and Silver Oak. Usually I can get the whole thing going with a single match, but this time it took two, plus a lot of rearranging and fanning and blowing to get all the wet wood fired up.

When the coals are hot, it’s time to put on the Dutch oven, lined with ti leaves, loaded with whole carrots, local pumpkin, purple sweet potatoes, or breadfruit.  I like to mix it up.  After about forty-five minutes, everything is moist and tender.  Next, I balance the grill on some big lava rocks or logs.  Once it’s hot, I put grass fed island meat and wild fish, and slabs of our farm’s white sugar loaf pineapple.

37890_1522935114620_2443981_n

Eggfruit

The cook fire can take all day.  But when it’s done there is a surprisingly little pile of ashes, a new space to plant a tree, and some mighty fine barbeque.  We eat until we are comfortably full and sleepy.  Leftovers make an amazing, smoky hash.  If there is leftover pumpkin it makes an incredible smoky curry soup.

Another favorite, I made last night, is pancakes for supper.  Between my husband and me, we have a lot of dietary restrictions.  Visitors and woofers* can make for even more demands.  So it’s a good thing I like a challenge.  Last night, my pancake culinary skills reached new heights though, with avocados.  Yes, you heard me.  Avocado pancakes.  That taste great with maple syrup.  There is an annual avocado recipe contest here, that I might just enter next year with these puppies, they are that good.  I mixed bananas, egg fruit, and avocado, to replace most of the oil, plus a blue egg from one of our hens.  For the second batch I replaced the egg fruit with white zapote. At the end of the meal not a single pancake was left.  Besides tasting great, they were very digestible and as one of our woofers* said in a hushed tone of awe, “They melt in your mouth!”

Screen shot 2014-06-12 at 3.15.59 PM

AVOCADO PANCAKES

Screen shot 2014-06-12 at 2.51.29 PMSift together:

1 c. flour, 1 t. baking soda, 1-1/2 t. baking powder, 1 t. cardamom

In a large bowl mash and mix:

1 small to medium ripe avocado, 1-2 ripe bananas (or any other soft, ripe fruit such as pears, papaya, etc.), 1 egg, 1-1/4 c. vanilla almond milk, 1 t. oil (coconut or butter taste best).

Add dry ingredients to large bowl and mix thoroughly.  Add 1 T. plain vinegar.

Optional: add 3/4 c. nuts, berries, etc.

Use a well-greased frying pan.  Pour about 1/3 c. batter per pancake.  Let the batter spread by itself on the pan.  Best if served immediately with your favorite toppings.  Makes enough pancakes to make two-three people happy.

*workers on organic farms

Responses

  1. Wow. I was transported while reading this. The mixture of sense memories and the reach of imagination took me for a ride. Thank you for the post. Beautiful life, beautiful post.

  2. Everything you do amazes me. We talk about you all the time. Love to everybody.


Leave a Reply

Categories

