Posted by: littlehouseonthebigisland | November 25, 2013

Going to Town

I try not to go to town more than once a week.  If I could, I would almost never leave the farm. But between errands and farm deliveries it doesn’t always work out that way.  Today Juli, the Dolphin and I are heading in, to beat the holiday shopping rush.  We’re getting all our supplies for Thanksgiving and Chanukah. Plus I’m dropping off milled green coffee to be roasted and seeing my chiropractor while Juli and the Dolphin visit the main public library and try to get cards.

We’re leaving at eleven, hoping to get back by four or five at the latest.  Already Juli and I walked the dogs, and I put away dishes, took out the compost, watered plants, and read a book my friend Meris loaned me, “Orphan Train.”  I’m almost done.  Then I’m reading her copy of  Beryl Markham’s book, “West with the Night.”  It was not only recommended by Meris, but by Ernest Hemingway, who wrote in letter to Maxwell Perkins:  “…she has written so well that I was completely ashamed of myself as a writer. I felt that I was simply a carpenter with words, picking up whatever was funished on the job and nailing them together and sometimes making and okay pig pen.  But [she] can write rings around all of us who consider ourselves writers. …I wish you would get it and read it because it is really a bloody wonderful book.”

My hope, always, is that I love a book that has been recommended, and that I either feel that I can write as well as the author, or be inspired to aspire to do as well.  With so many cozy reading nooks at Little House I look forward to reading, finishing the book I am on, and starting the next one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

