Posted by: littlehouseonthebigisland | November 23, 2013

Chanukah Thanksgiving Plans

I get the feeling if I don’t start to try to put down SOMETHING, too much will happen and I will end up writing NOTHING.  So… we are all abuzz about Chanukah and Thanksgiving.  NPR said yesterday that this is the first time in 125 years that the two holidays exactly fall together and that it will not happen again for another 76,000 years.  I thought maybe I heard wrong, but James said the same thing.

So far our menu is turkey baked in a dutch oven over a cook fire, yams or pumpkin with maple syrup, a lentil mushroom loaf, mushroom gravy, peas, mashed potatoes, cranberry relish and breadfruit stuffing.  For dessert: homemade macadamia nut cookies with dark chocolate chips.

Friday night, which is Shabbat and Chanukah, we are making two kinds of latkes; sweet potato/yam and regular spuds with onions, served with sour cream and applesauce.  And we’ll hang a Menorah ornament from the chandelier and maybe light candles.

Having been raised in a multicultural family, I love these two holidays.  Also I love that we will all be helping cook and clean up.


Leave a comment

Categories