Posted by: littlehouseonthebigisland | October 26, 2013

Lord Have Mercy

I walk the dogs every morning.  We go on different routes, letting me see how things are evolving on the farm.  Today we went into the forest that hugs the makaii or ocean side of our land.  When I came back from the Mainland, there was a dead cat there.  At first I thought it was a dog, it seemed so big.  Every day or two or three we go by, creating the effect of time-lapse photography.  The stench is gone.  The fur is like a translucent fuzz. And now bones can be seen clearly.  They are a polished brownish yellow, like pieces of carved bamboo.

Yesterday my husband James got a call after going to the doctor that his labs had finally come back.  He has a particularly virulent form of staph, the acronym for which is MRSA, pronounced “mer-suh”.  He doesn’t want to look it up on line, to learn more, but my sister has warned me it’s contagious. When I mentioned it to my chiropractor she said, “Isn’t that that flesh-eating disease?”  And then later, when I told one of our farm helpers, she lit up and said, “Oooh.  I’ve read a lot about MRSA.  It’s that flesh-eating disease!”

Needless to say, I’m creeped out.  Plus worried.  James took off the bandage last night and it looked so awful I had to go in another room.  Then my stomach cramped up horribly. 

My sister says it’s just like at Passover, with boils. And frogs, I remind her.  We have these tiny Koki frogs about the size of a quarter that have been working their way up the side of our volcano. Now they are on the farm below us.  They are hard to find but easy to hear.  The males’ nighttime mating call is 80 decibels.  There can be up to 5,000 Kokis per acre.

On the bright side, James began having itchy legs while I was on the mainland. The boils broke out two days after I returned.  In the meantime, I have cuts on my back and face from falling in the forest on lava rocks, but so far, even though we share a bed and a bathroom and he managed to rub my feet last night to ease the stomach cramps, I still show no signs of staph.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

…And remember to follow up with my friends who arrive next week, and all the people who are applying for our December farm help openings about the joys and wonders of Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

Categories

